Gallery, Results

USA Jet Cars 10/1/2004

In America, a track temperature of anything above 120 degrees F or even 100 degrees F is considered hot. At Kwinana on this day, the track temperate was above 170 degrees F! Traction is very difficult to find at these sorts of temperatures.

The feature for this event was the USA Jets, with Chuck Haynes taking on former Quit Motorplex Managing Director Gary Miocevich.

Chuck’s jet, as quoted from Gary, is a real hot rod and given a few unfortunate accidents lately in the US where one driver was killed, it is perhaps the world’s quickest and fastest currently in operation. However on this night it was not performing as hoped, launching sluggishly and struggling into high five second times. The result of this was that Miocevich was having a great time, winning the first race on a holeshot, the second when Chuck Haynes redlit, with a…get this…-.001 light! The final was reversed when Miocevich red lit to Haynes with a -.005! Haynes took the quickest time of the night in the 2000ft air with a 5.58 at 285mph. The problem with Haynes’ jet was later discovered to be a “bleed door” in the engine that lets the engine launch on almost full rpm.

In the heat of the day, Top Comp struggled with almost every car smoking the tyres on the melting track.
The B Final was taken out by Murray O’Connor in his AA/AP Falcon.
The A Final was a match up between Grant O’Rourke and Mark Sheehan. O’Rourke took a six hundredths holeshot, but the dragster quickly made up the distance and a shutting off 6.06 on a 6.49 index secured the win for Sheehan. Grant had to pedal on his run and a 6.30 at a hard charging 227mph failed to make up the distance.
Also of note in Top Comp was Damien Harris’ times in the Ventura Homes funny car, now in Top Alcohol trim. Damien ran a 6.12 with a .95 60 foot time to give the team some confidence.

The Super Comp final came down to Graeme Simms and Andrew Kostecki. However it was a bit of an anticlimax when Simms’ car rocked out of the beams bringup up the red light early, leaving Kostecki’s shut off run to take the win.

Early eliminations were marred by a crash from Ian Johns. The beautiful Camaro got out of shape big time about 100 ft out, with the car swinging from side to side as Johns struggled for control. The back end of the car swiped the wall, as it continued to swing from side to side before coming to a rest in the breaking area.

In Comp Bike, Gary Arthur took a win over a red-lighting Tim McClure in the B Final. In the A Final, Paul Nieuwhof was on the back foot by three hundredths on the line aganst Terry Jongen, but the 1500cc Kawasaki reeled in Jongen, and an 8.12 on an 8.40 index took the win by one hundredth over Jongen’s 8.22 on an 8.47 index.

Modified saw Aaron Deery again in the final, this time up against Pauline Igglesden. Deery took the holeshot and not even an 8.61 on an 8.60 dial in could produce a win for Igglesden, Deery extending his lead in both the Modified championship and the Rookie of the Year contest.

Super Sedan saw Brenton Baxter in yet another final with the SA ex-pat taking the narrowest of wins over speedway stalwart Pino Priolo, who broke out by five thousandths. Priolo commented at presentations that he was really enjoying his racing on the “other side of the fence”.

Modified Bike featured the annual Roland Johnson Memorial, in honour of a Modified Bike racer tragically killed in a road accident. This meeting is always one of the most special of the year and this year it was no different. Les Holden and Tony Paul made the final, with neither having won the trophy before, so it was going to be a new name on the stunning memorial. Paul took the holeshot, but he missed a gear change down track and it was Holden who took out the event.

Matt Whiteside was in another final in Super Street, but his beautiful green ute had troubles staging and as a result the red light came up, handing the win to Ralph Lewis.

In the Junior ranks, Matt Johnson won from Shane Weston, who also took out Best Appearing Car and Crew.

For qualifying results click on one of the brackets below:

For elimination results click HERE